Palladium Saint Louis was built in 1937 as the laundry facility for the first municipal hospital in St. Louis. The hospital began as a state-of-the-art facility, unlike any other hospital in St. Louis. Over time, the facilities became outdated, over-crowded and under-funded, lowering the standard of care. The hospital permanently closed its doors in 1985, and the buildings stood vacant while redevelopment plans circled. Construction began on Palladium Saint Louis in late summer 2008, with new ‘Palladian’ style windows and a restored copper cupola. The space has been transformed into a contemporary, private-event space, maintaining the building’s rich history and architecture, and bringing a part of St. Louis history back to life.